Marketing libraries and data analysis

Andrew Moore Library CampThe day being in it, the results of the Marriage Equality referendum were due in, just as we started our pitches, and sampling opinion and analysing demographics was very much on my mind when I began by pitch. My talk regarded the sampling of library visitors, using a questionnaire, at the National Gallery of Ireland, a project I conducted in 2012 for my MLIS.

The theoretical basis for my pitch was from the book “The Library marketing toolkit” (Facet Publishing, 2012) which provided many helpful ideas. The most important was a diagram, The marketing cycle, which puts the use of quantitative data as central to any kind of marketing activities. It shows that a marketing campaign should in theory operate cyclically, and that constant evaluation of library visitors is required to formulate effective campaigns, involving the use of statistics. I then showed the results of my sampling project which showed a breakdown of demographic profiles.

An open discussion then began in which my audience and I looked at the data from my project and considered how to theoretically create marketing campaigns which meet the needs of different groups; students, professionals, as well as differences in age and gender.   The talk concluded with a discussion of which paintings are most popular in the National Gallery of Ireland and I referred to the national vote held in 2012, known as “Ireland’s Favourite Painting” and the winner “The meeting on the turret stairs” by Frederick Burton held in the gallery. This thereby gave a “real-world” example of the importance of surveying with regards to promoting cultural heritage.

by Andrew Moore

Leave a Reply

